Participation in racing teaches important sailing skills. Some racing, in a fun and non-competitive atmosphere, is incorporated into all classes. For the advanced sailor who does not want to compete against other yacht clubs or travel to race, Opti C and 420s classes are most appropriate. KSEA Race Days will be on Wednesdays at 12:30-15:30 for everyone. It is expected that all afternoon sailors participate in the Wednesday afternoon session, either as racers or as race support.


Optimist and 420 race teams are for experienced and eager racers. Team membership is determined by the instructor. Team members will train at KYC and travel as a team to compete in a number of local, regional and national regattas throughout the summer. Race Team is best considered a single session of 7 weeks. Participation for a shorter time is at the option of the instructor, and must be coordinated with the travel and training schedule. Parents will be expected to volunteer time to help organize and carry out the travel plans. The cost of regatta registration and travel expenses will be in addition to the class fee. Scholarships are available.  

Click here for more information on race team >>


Prizes will be awarded for the Thursday series races. 

Additional prizes & awards include:

  • KYC Cup: A day race for the one-design classes, held annually.

  • Founder's Cup: A day race for the one-design classes, held annually to honor the memory of Dr. Seth M. Milliken, the club's founder. The Founder's Cup replaces the Commodore's Cup Race which was originally raced annually on July 23rd, Dr. Milliken's birthday.

  • Becton Cup: The Becton Cup is an annual, one-day regatta for junior sailors. It is named to honor the memory of Jean and Henry Becton and to recognize their role in establishing and supporting the junior sailing program over the years.

  • Brigham Britton Memorial Trophy: A race for cruising boats sailed by individuals 20 years or under. One or more competent advisors, 20 and over, must be on board. Yacht owners shall be especially invited to participate. The Brigham Britton Memorial Trophy was established in 1981 to honor the memory of Brigham Britton. Its purpose is to develop juniors in skills of seamanship, navigation and racing; and further, to promote inter-club activities among juniors. The Brigham Britton Memorial Trophy replaces the Questing Beast Trophy.

  • Jean C. Becton Award: Established in honor of long-time champion of the junior sailing program, Jean Becton, this award will be presented annually to the most outstanding junior sailor.

  • Niehoff Award: May be presented annually to a junior member who has evidenced the most improvement during the season in sportsmanship, seamanship and racing tactics and rules.

  • Commodore Milliken Award: Commodore Milliken, the Founder of the Yacht Club, was a man of outstanding seamanship, had love and respect for boats and the sea, was always aware of yachting customs and courtesies and had an unfailing spirit of sportsmanship. For 32 years Commodore Milliken, by teaching and by example, tried to inculcate these qualities in club members. This award is given to the junior member who best exemplifies Commodore Milliken's standards, and may be presented annually.