Founder's Cup Race

A day race for the one-design classes, held annually to honor the memory of Dr. Seth M. Milliken, the club's founder. The Founder's Cup replaces the Commodore's Cup Race which was originally raced annually on July 23rd, Dr. Milliken's birthday.


A day race for the one-design classes, held annually.


The Becton Cup is an annual, one-day regatta for junior sailors.  It is named to honor the memory of Jean and Henry Becton and to recognize their role in establishing and supporting the junior sailing program over the years.


A race held annually  to honor the memory of Paul Nevin.  A rating rule is used to handicap the cruising boats. The cumulative total of a yacht's elapsed time is used to calculate the order of finish.  


A handicap day race for cruising auxiliaries held annually to honor the memory of Richard S. Danforth.


A handicap day race held simultaneously with the Danforth Cup Race but sailing a shorter course. This event is held, if sufficient entries warrant, to accommodate the smaller cruising auxiliaries and is named for Richard Danforth's yawl Gitana.

Brigham Britton Memorial Trophy

A race for cruising boats sailed by individuals 20 years or under. One or more competent advisors, 20 and over, must be on board. Yacht owners shall be especially invited to participate. The Brigham Britton Memorial Trophy was established in 1981 to honor the memory of Brigham Britton. Its purpose is to develop juniors in skills of seamanship, navigation and racing; and further, to promote inter-club activities among juniors. The Brigham Britton Memorial Trophy replaces the Questing Beast Trophy.

The Niehoff Award

May be presented annually to a junior member who has evidenced the most improvement during the season in sportsmanship, seamanship and racing tactics and rules.

Commodore Seth M. Milliken Award

Commodore Milliken, the Founder of the Yacht Club, was a man of outstanding seamanship, had love and respect for boats and the sea, was always aware of yachting customs and courtesies and had an unfailing spirit of sportsmanship. For 32 years Commodore Milliken, by teaching and by example, tried to inculcate these qualities in club members.  This award is given to the junior member who best exemplifies Commodore Milliken's standards, and may be presented annually.

The Jean C. Becton Award

Established in honor of long-time champion of the junior sailing program, Jean Becton, this award will be presented annually to the most outstanding junior sailor.


Presented in memory of Major Robert Slaven to the owner of the dinghy-inflatable, or other small craft on the KYC float presenting the smartest appearance.